Friday Favourites ~ Across the Universe by Beth Revis

I am a total bio nerd.

I mean just yesterday I attended a fungi walk at a nearby provincial park and absolutely loved it. I literally stood there, listening to some guy talk about mushrooms for a couple of hours with hope in my heart that he would never stop.

Even I know how weird that is.

That being said, when it comes to astronomy, I’m the exact same, meaning Across the Universe, a book about love, new beginnings, and best of all outer space, was the perfect addition to my favourites shelf.

AcrossAcross the Universe by Beth Revis

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone – one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship – tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.

I picked this book up a summer ago with a fascination for the cover. Please, you can’t tell me that it isn’t absolutely gorgeous! I was quickly surprised to find that the content of the book was the jelly to the doughnut.

There were so many things that I loved about the book.

Foremost was the romance. Gosh, I am a huge sucker for a perfect love story, and this was no exception. Elder and Amy’s love story started with Elder finding Amy suffocating in the container that was supposed to keep her alive, and with the help of the doctor, saves the life of this strange, pale, red head. The story goes on as Elder helps Amy adjust to life on the ship, and Amy helps Elder to see beyond the box he lives in.

Some of us find difference in distance when speaking to those we love, but Elder and Amy deal with the progression of time itself.

The writing and content in Across the Universe was flawless. Revis has a seemingly effortless way of showing the progression of time and technology. Explaining a giant ship that self supplies itself with food, along with a fake sun that goes up and down daily, all inhabited by people that have genetics so intertwined that they all look alike, is not easy to explain in a professional manner, -honestly, I’m pretty sure I’ve already confused you,- but Revis some how manages to display it all beautifully.

Finally we’ve got Amy. What isn’t there to love about that girl? She’s brave and strong when faced with new situations, and she stays true to her beliefs no matter what. That’s not to say she has no character development.

Oh, no. Guys, you will be blown away by the time you reach book three, firstly by Amy’s development, and secondly by the whole freaking story!!!

Also, another thing I loved about Amy was her love of running, and her fascination with the stars

This was mostly because, letting y’all in on a little secret here, I have a huge weak spot for books in which the main character’s a runner. What can I say, I had it before I started running,and it still continues today. It’s just that every time I read a book with this, I always admire the dedication those girls have, and I strive to have the same.

Enough about all that ”personal” stuff.

Readers, if you love:

  • Action Romance,
  • Outer space,
  • Running,
  • And strong female leads,

Then you need to get Uranus to the nearest book store now!

I'm sorry, that was bad.

See you at the book store,

EmSignature

One thought on “Friday Favourites ~ Across the Universe by Beth Revis

  1. Pingback: Library Haul | meers2review

Leave a Reply

