Review: Abandon by Elana Johnson

abandonAbandon (Possession #3)
By Elana Johnson

Hardcover, 464 pages
Published June 4th 2013 by Simon Pulse
Average Rating: 3.81

Vi has made her choice between Jag and Zenn, and the resistance may have suffered for it. But with the Thinkers as strong as ever, the rebels still have a job to do. Vi knows better than anyone that there’s more at stake than a few broken hearts.

But there is a traitor among them…and the choices he makes could lead to the total destruction of everything Vi has fought for.

Vi, Jag, and Zenn must set their problems aside for the resistance to have any hope of ending the Thinkers’ reign. Their success means everything…and their failure means death.


three star

I can’t put my feelings into words… I want to say I’m disappointed but on the other hand, I’m not. Finishing Abandon really had me for a turn, that’s why I postponed writing this review…

It didn’t help that stupid me read some reviews on this book before reading it. I read some spoilers. I read some negative comments. I want to say it didn’t influence me while reading Abandon, but it did.

So, this book is written in dual POV, Zenn’s and Jag’s. The whole trilogy is written in multiple point of views. I’m glad that the author didn’t try to write this last book in all five of them. It would have been too much and choosing to choose Zenn and Jag to conclude the story was a good one. Other than Vi, Zenn and Jag are the ones that are the most important in the whole trilogy as they are a crucial part of the Rebellion. This way, readers will further understand these two dynamic characters. (I was also excited to read about Jag’s thoughts about Vi. 🙂 )

Zenn was an unreliable narrator. For the most part, the book is about going against the General with Jag and Vi’s Rebellion. Zenn plays a big part in organizing the Rebellion as he is Jag’s Second-In-Command. But, throughout the novel, I saw that Zenn was wavering between supporting the Rebellion and going back to the General to become a Director. Also, Zenn kept talking about his unrequited feelings for Vi. *groans* I thought we got over that. Apparently not. Then, later in the novel, he gets a new love interest, Saffediene (I think that’s how you spell her name…)

Jag’s thoughts were actually consumed of Indie which made me very angry. Now it’s upgraded from a love triangle to a love square. Fabulous. Just what I needed. Jag also sounded really whiny and young. He didn’t sound mature enough to lead a rebellion and seemed really tired of being a leader. It did show that leadership is hard and exhausting but Johnson wrote it to the point where it got annoying. I just wanted Jag to step up and take charge. (He does.)

The love triangle between Jag, Zenn and Vi did get solved in this third book. But in a very shocking and brave way. This was actually the spoiler I read and it was exactly how I read it, so it kind of decrease my reaction… Nonetheless, it was still powerful and moving.

The one good thing about this book is that it wasn’t hard to go back into the series. It picked up at a fast-pace and it didn’t take long for me to be immersed into the story. I really pushed through all the anger for the love square and Jag’s whining. I did find the story long though. I mean it was fast-paced but it felt like it was going on and on and on. At one point I started to skim because I just wanted to finish the book. There definitely could’ve been some scenes and/or chapters taken out.

The book did take me on a emotional roller-coaster ride. There are deaths, there are sacrifices, and there are lovey-dovey moments. Abandon invoked everything from chest pains to laughter. This is one of the reasons why I got into the book so easily.

The ending was open ended. It didn’t leave too many questions unanswered but enough to leave a long-lasting question mark about the fate of the characters and their world.

I’m rather disappointed in this book because I thoroughly enjoyed the previous two books, Possession and Surrender. The beginning of the trilogy went from five stars to three. That low of a dip in the rating isn’t good especially for the conclusion of a series.

Abandon could’ve been better but it was readable at the least. It’s a decent ending to the Possession trilogy and in the long run, finished the characters stories. All questions are answered and the future of the world is left in a promising state.

I recommend you read my reviews on Possession and Surrender which will be linked below. I also recommend avoiding reading spoilers. It will ruin your experience reading books. (Like any of you didn’t know that 😛 )

Keep calm and read on,

Michelle

Review: Possession (Book 1) here
Review: Surrender (Book 2) here

Leave a Reply

