Friday Favourites: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

I know, I know! Em and I have been lacking with our Friday Favourites! It’s been a busy first couple weeks of school and it’s going to get busier. Bare with us. 😛 We’ll try our best to continue to keep posting Friday Favs. (And for me, my book reviews… It’s going to be a challenge to balance school, extra-curriculars, sleep and this blog.)

Now, this week my Friday Fav is a lot of people’s Fav. It’s now a movie, a wonderful, beautiful movie at that. It’s about this young girl who plays the cello, who must choose whether to stay or go. We follow flashbacks from her past about the beginning of her romantic relationship with a certain musician, and her growing into a confident young woman.

If you haven’t guessed already, ladies and gentlemen, I present to you, If I Stay by Gayle Forman

if i stayIf I Stay
By Gayle Forman

Paperback, 261 pages
Published April 6th 2010 by Speak (first published 2009)
Average Rating: 3.96
The critically acclaimed, bestselling novel from Gayle Forman, author of Where She Went, Just One Day, and Just One Year.
Soon to be a major motion picture, starring Chloe Moretz!
In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heartwrenchingly beautiful, this will change the way you look at life, love, and family.
Now a major motion picture starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Mia’s story will stay with you for a long, long time.

I read If I Stay before the damn movie came out so ha! And boy did the movie live up to the brilliant book! Now, I’ll probably write a review on this novel so I don’t want to comment much about it.
If I Stay is a wonderful book about love, fate, and what makes us stay alive.
What makes it a favourite?
  • The feels. You will feel them. You will cry. You will rejoice. You will squeal. This novel has everything
  • Great characters!! Mia is super relatable and I love her. Her love interest is pretty awesome too! Not to mention, Mia’s family which is like none other but you quickly grow to accept them for who they are.
  • The message. The message of this book is refreshing, real and honest. It really hits you in the gut.
  • It’s a movie!! The bonus about this book is that the movie companion is awesome and amazing and really lives up to the book. What better than a fantastic movie accompanying a fabulous novel?

Well, that’s it! I hope I convince you to read this book, if you haven’t already! (Seriously, what is wrong with you? If I Stay is probably one of the most acclaimed YA novels ever.)

Have you read the book? Seen the movie? Let me know in the comments what you thought about this franchise!

Happy reading!

Michelle


Really sorry about the formatting…I don’t really know what happened.. 😛

Leave a Reply

