Review: Speechless by Hannah Harrington

Have you ever considered to just stop talking?

How easy would it be? To just let the rest of the world do the talking, to stop worrying about others’ expectations in what your next words will be. You wouldn’t have to experience getting ignored, and you wouldn’t regret another word, or get embarrassed by saying the wrong thing.

But you also wouldn’t be able to express yourself the same way ever again. You would never sing along to your favourite songs on the radio. And, in all honesty, you would still be falling both up and down stairs, whether you could voice your opinion or not. I know, gravity’s a killer.

Of course, you don’t have to go though this horrific ride in real life, because a reader lives a thousand lives my friends, and now you’re about to live one more.

SpeechlessSpeechless By Hannah Harrington

My Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ /5

Goodreads’ Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ /5

Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can’t keep a secret

Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast—and nearly got someone killed.

Now Chelsea has taken a vow of silence—to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting anyone else. And if she thinks keeping secrets is hard, not speaking up when she’s ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.

But there’s strength in silence, and in the new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way—people she never noticed before; a boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she’s done. If only she can forgive herself.

You probably remember me commenting on how I’d have to start reading more contemporary novels after absolutely loving Emmy and Oliver, so here I am, keeping my word!

Speechless is a book in which 15 year old Chelsea blurts out a secret, a secret that has major consequences for Noah, an innocent boy who just happened to be in the wrong room at the wrong time.

In a flurry of guilt, regret, and confusion, Chelsea takes a vow of silence, one that opens her eyes to the world around her, like how her best friend isn’t much of a friend, and the fact that her art partner, Sam, is a major hottie, crooked smile and all 😉 .

The thing that I loved about this book was how realistic it was. Ash, Sam, Andy, and Noah were a group of friends that I could picture in my own school, and the problems faced by Chelsea were harsh, but not far-fetched.

The story kept me captivated from day one. My attention did waver around the end, though I honestly think this had more to do with the fact that I read ahead, because it was that good, than anything else.

However, I must warn you that my friends and I spent a whole day pondering over the controversial love story between Chelsea and Sam, as questions seem to arise on the topic of

“Can you fall in love without ever speaking to someone?”

In the end, we seemed to be split half and half, so what do you think?

See you at the bookstore,

EmSignature

Leave a Reply

