Review: Half Bad by Sally Green

Half Bad - Sally GreenWanted by no one.
Hunted by everyone.

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

four star

This book was definitely interesting in a number of different ways. In a summary, I liked it a lot, there were plenty of reasons for why I was uncertain about it, but every single doubt was quickly proven wrong. Actually they soon became my favourite parts. So it’s partially because of my doubts that I’m starting the order of my review differently and jumping straight to writing style.

Surprisingly, this book actually starts out in second person, in other words using you instead of I. This pretty much throws the reader right smack into the book as the character. This goes on for the first part and then it changes into first person. Now, personally, I have never enjoyed second person. Yes, I’ve mostly read it in fanfiction but the style tended to irritate me and I couldn’t enjoy the story. Green used it in a way I didn’t think possible and I found I loved the style and saw it in a new way afterwards. It became a great way to create the story and draw the reader directly into it. More direct than any other really.

Other than that, I loved the writing style immensely through and through from second to first person. In the latter, it really was told from Nathan’s perspective. I was able to understand how he thought. See how the world worked in his perspective and because of who and what he is, the world is seen a lot differently to him than others. It’s enticing.

So as a character, this of course made Nathan awesome. He has plenty of quirks and weaknesses that he is quickly forced to overcome or pass. The world hits him in all the wrong ways and he is quite frankly given the shitty end of the stick. Everything that can go wrong, does. Yet, he perseveres, showing great personality and sticks to his own beliefs in a way I could support and enjoy, even when I didn’t agree with all of his decisions. Even when I didn’t agree, I did understand them and that has a lot of significance for me.

Then, there’s the plot. Cruel and unwavering with it’s little mysteries that I struggled to discern just like Nathan. A few things I realized before him and the suspense to when he would discover those things nearly killed me. Not to mention the rise to different events, the flow of everything and the importance of each and every piece. I don’t believe there was really any part of this plot, any chapter, that existed without one reason or another. Something to add in to where it would all go. The climax, though I will say in two words. Loved it. It settled certain things just the way I wanted and needed. Of course it also brought up the constant questions all great writers give the reader. I am impatiently waiting for a chance to get the next book, Half Wild, and before long, finish off the trilogy itself. I’m excited to find out where it will lead to next after the ending.

Other characters will be interesting. I loved and hated so many for so many different reasons. My emotions while following this book were haywire because I’ll admit some of the controversy had my blood boiling and made me frustrated more than Nathan ever seemed to be. It made me want to lash out, jump in the book and throttle some of the other characters. That feeling isn’t going away anytime soon I bet.

So with that I will bid you all adieu, thank you for listening to my review/rant. I recommend this read to lovers of the idea of witchcraft or supernatural in general along with half-bloods. The idea of misfits and someone who simply doesn’t fit due to things out of their control. It will be a very good read and opened my mind with some of its lessons in many ways.

Until next time,

ShaylaSig

Leave a Reply

