Review: P.S I Still Love You by Jenny Han

psistillloveyouP.S I Still Love You (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #2)
By Jenny Han

Hardcover, 337 pages
Published May 26th 2015 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Average Rating: 4.20
Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

three starhalf star

When I first started reading this book I couldn’t continue it for the life of me. It was only a few days ago that I finally picked it back up again and finished it.

*frustrated groan*

PS is such a slow paced book!! I really had to force myself to read this book. It was only until I was three quarters way in when it actually got exciting! PS had such a mellow feel to it that it made it sooo booring!!

This book contained not a love triangle but a love square. *raises fists at the gods in anger* No. That is not okay!! Love is not a triangle nor is it a dang square. You don’t even see the appearance of the fourth member until much later! This square consists of Lara Jean, Peter, Genevieve, and John. (I love how the boys’ names are so common compared to the girls’ names XD ) Lara Jean and Peter are dating. Peter and Gen used to date until Peter fell in love with Lara Jean. And Lara Jean had a crush on John in eighth grade. Peter and John used to be best friends before John moved away. Gen and Lara Jean also used to be good friends until they just stopped being ones for an unknown reason. As you can guess, this whole love square thing caused lots of unnecessary drama, drama, drama. *face palm*

Lara Jean was so insecure, whiny and way too innocent for her own good. It was flipping annoying. There were so many times she acted extremely irrational and stupid when it came to her jealousy about Peter’s friendship with Gen. You see Peter was always with Gen and sometimes without Lara Jean knowing.

(Lara Jean will now be mentioned as JL because it’s too much to type over and over again. Not to mention say over and over again!)

I know it’s okay for exes to still be friends but I think Peter’s actions toed at the line of being inappropriate. There was moments where I thought Peter was cheating on LJ but there was a certain section of the book where I knew Peter was loyal to LJ. It was LJ who didn’t give Peter the benefit of the doubt. A good thing was that she wasn’t totally clueless about Peter and Gen. If she didn’t suspect a thing then that would be a whole other level of insanity. It’s completely human to suspect but it was the lack of pushing the thought aside. Again, one might not help it. It was just one specific scene where she didn’t let Peter explain and I wanted to punch her cause she could’ve saved loads of pain for herself and Peter. She just created useless drama because she didn’t feel secure enough. All the stupid arguments between Peter and LJ just made everything feel so immature. Hell, it did get better in the end though. So along with the characters the book also matured.

Also, Lara Jean’s priorities needed to be set straight. Ugh. I honestly hated her for this. HATED HER. In the middle of the novel, there’s this game she plays with Trevor, Peter, Chris, Gen, and John. The point was to reminisce something they did when they were kids. So the game was that each player had one name, and they had to tag that person with two hands. No one knows who has who. If you tag your person, you get the name that person had and so on and so forth until it’s between two people. Now, I thought this portion of the novel was really creative and cool to read about but LJ was obsessed with winning the damn thing just so she can say she beat Gen. Girl, it doesn’t matter!! It’s just a game!!

Gen was a bitch, buuut I did feel bad for her…  You find something out about her that just sucks. There is no other word to describe it… ‘Nough said.

Peter made me go back and forth with liking him. One moment I did, the other I didn’t. I loved him in the first book so freaking much!! But in this book I felt like I was falling out of love with him. This didn’t make me happy. Peter is so funny and him and Lara Jean are so cute and funny together. All this drama hide that and I wished they had more scenes like the ones in the first book. By the end though, I did fall back in love with him. The dealbreaker was that he made me cry, so I gotta give him points for that.

John I loved from the very beginning. He was such an easy character to like, and his personality was so sweet and genuine. If he wasn’t part of the damn love square, I would’ve liked him more. That’s the only part I didn’t like.

In spite of all this negativity, I couldn’t deny the lessons and legitimacy of PS I Still Love You. It may have been so frustrating to read because of the stupidity of the characters and all that unneeded drama, but it was so real and honest. Yes, there will be an ex-girlfriend (or boyfriend) that you’ll have to deal with, yes, there is going to be people who you had feelings for that come back into your life and you’ll have to deal with that too. There will always be that mean girl who wants to sabotage you but you have to stand tall. Yes, jealousy is normal and human and it’s going to happen. There will be things that doesn’t matter at all but it will matter because we are human. Even though I hated everything, I loved everything because it was true. The characters grew and learned. I hate that I knew that because it doesn’t let me rate this book below three stars. Because I wish I could. I really really did. I have not ignored the whole half of the book that was painful to read… My emotions were all over the place. I mean how can you hate and love a book at the same time with equal passion?? I don’t know how to deal with this.

I do wish this book was as good as the first one because I really, really, really liked the first one. This sadly didn’t meet my expectations.

PS I Still Love You is most definitely a Contemporary and Coming-Of-Age novel. I recommend this to those who have read Jenny Han, and who like Realistic Fiction.

Keep calm and read on.

Michelle

Leave a Reply

