Rant: Fairy tales

93_fairytale_castle_s_woolcott_tcm4-453538A few days ago, I got a reality check. But let me explain something first. I’m a hopeless romantic. I’m in love with the idea of love. It’s one of the reasons why I love books so much because all these books can bring a sense of reality to all the love stories I think about. It’s the second best thing to a fairy tale. Authors create these relationships that are so romantic and heart-melting so I love sinking my head into those stories.

The negative effect of this is that it makes a lot of book nerds have unrealistic expectations about love and romance. I’ve been on the other end of this. I probably still will be but I don’t think I’m as naive as I was before. Here comes the hard cold slap of reality.

This is actually really bad ’cause I think I’m starting to believe that true love only exists in books. I’m starting to believe that I’ll never experience falling in love in the life-changing sort of way. I’ll just end up settling for some guy instead of actually being with the one I truly love, and will never stop loving until the end of eternity. I’ll stop searching for the one. I’ll just stop wishing and hoping for that kind of relationship ’cause truth is, it’s probably not out there.

On the other hand, I know people do fall in love. But I think it only happens to a few of us. I’m too young to understand anything about love and relationships. I’m only 15 years old. (ALMOST 16. Damn that end of the year birthday…) But now, it just seems so far-fetched that in real life there is something called true love. Not the love you feel towards your friends and family but the love for a partner; your partner.

I guess the point of this rant is about this one question I have.

How does one balance between hoping to find true love and accepting the reality of what you have? How does one balance between what’s delusion and what’s real? How does one hope for a fairytale but realize that it won’t happen?

I’ll always love the idea of love. I’ll continue to read books and swoon over the characters relationship, but I think that’s it. Until I find some guy who can convince me that there is love out there then so be it. This might not exactly be a reality check but for now, my fairy tale ending seems too far away to imagine.


I hope you guys aren’t too sad and disturbed by this post… I’m just writing my thoughts… This ranting series that Shayla started up is a good way to express feelings and opinions…

Have a great day!

Michelle

Leave a Reply

