Movie Review: Oz the Great and Powerful (2013)

ozthegreatandpowerfulOz the Great and Powerful (2013)

CAST:
James Franco – Oz
Mila Kunis – Theodora
Rachel Weisz – Evanora
Michelle Williams – Glinda
Joey King – China Girl / Wheelchair Girl
Bill Cobbs – Master Tinker

PG
130mins
Genre: Adventure, Family, Fantasy
Release Date: March 8 2013

three star

At first, I really didn’t want to watch this movie. This was one of the moments where you’re on Netflix looking for a movie but you couldn’t find one you really wanted to watch. You spend at least 20 minutes looking for a movie, still not finding one you’re really really interested in, so you say screw it and choose a random movie. You watch the whole thing, but because you aren’t into it, you think the movie is just meh. This was how I ended up watching Oz the Great and Powerful.

I actually never seen Wizard of Oz before but I know the story fairly well. I was in the choir when my elementary school put on the play, so I had to be at every single performance, resulting me in watching the dang thing 3-4 times. Sad Michelle Moment. *cringe*

I watched Oz the Great and Powerful with my younger sister and twenty minutes in I turned to her and said, “Can we watch another one??” She insisted we keep watching since she wanted to see Mila Kunis. I love Mila Kunis and that was enough of a reminder to suck it up and keep watching this very boring movie.

The introduction didn’t reel me in and the fact that I wanted to stop watching speaks for itself. IT WAS SO BLAND AND UNINTERESTING!

It wasn’t long before Mila Kunis made her appearance and by then, I was kinda liking the movie. Thank god, it didn’t stay boring forever. It did progress in a promising way. I wanted to see how the movie would end.

I’m pretty impressed by the acting of the cast, I assume most scenes were shot in front of a green screen and I couldn’t imagine how hard it would be to pretend to be in a world like Oz. Each actor had to visualize and really commit to their character and the world.

The effects were incredible. This movie had to depend on how real the world of Oz would be. They were successful. It was cool when Oz, the main character, went into Oz through the the tornado and his journey to the Emerald City. The CGI was really well done.

The plot was really creative. With this bring the prequel to the Wizard of Oz, it was neat to see how the Wizard came to be. We got his backstory and I really liked his character. In the beginning, Oz was really selfish, insensitive and manipulative. By the end, he changed and I grew fond of him. He developed into the opposite version of the man he was in the beginning. So yay, character development!

Like Dorothy had her sidekicks in Wizard of Oz, Oz also had his companions. A china doll, a talking monkey, and the beautiful Good Witch of the North. I personally adore the talking monkey! He was a great comic relief and made me laugh all the time! Not to mention, he was adorable for a CGI. China Doll ticked me off. But like Oz, she grew on me. Glinda, the Good Witch of the North was easy to like. Loved the friendship between her and Oz, and how smart she was.

The ending of the movie was incredible. It was clever, jaw-dropping and ended with a BANG! Everything clicked into place in relation to Wizard of Oz, and how Oz came to be the wizard. The movie also managed to include a little romance, including a kiss at the very end.

Oz the Great and Powerful is a great movie to watch with family, but I think the kids will enjoy this more than a teenager. But it’s just so adorable and sweet, that everyone will enjoy this movie in some shape or form.

Happy watching!

Michelle

Leave a Reply

