Review: Deceptions by Kelley Armstrong

24537359Deceptions (Cainsville #3)
By Kelley Armstrong

Hardcover, 496 pages
Published August 20th 2015 by Sphere
Average Rating: 4.16

TRUST NO ONE

Olivia Jones is desperate for the truth. The daughter of convicted serial killers, she has begun to suspect that her parents are innocent of their crimes. But who can she trust, in a world where betrayal and deception hide in every shadow?

RISK EVERYTHING

Liv does have one secret weapon: a mysterious sixth sense that helps her to anticipate danger. The trouble is, this rare power comes with its own risks. There are dark forces that want to exploit Liv’s talents – and will stop at nothing to win her to their side.

FACE THE TRUTH

Now Liv must decide, before it’s too late. Who does she love? Who is really on her side? And can she save herself without burning down everything that matters most?


four star

I don’t know why I’m so interested in this series!! Ok, I do know why, but it surprises me how much I actually love this series.

Let me say, Deceptions lived up to the previous two books.

I really like the format of the book. It’s mostly written in first person POV (Olivia’s) but there is an occasional chapter in Gabriel or Ricky’s POV. (Most are in Gabriel’s ❤ )

I really love going into Gabriel’s head. He is so different from most male literary characters. He doesn’t know how to comfort, he’s awkward when it comes to tears; he’s like a robot. A very very successful lawyer robot. He has lots of social issues too. I wanted some character development from Gabriel and I did. Kind of. It was more like teeny tiny baby steps. Gabriel is a contender for Olivia’s attention, along with Ricky.

Now, you would think I would be upset with this love triangle thing going on but, it’s not even a love triangle. I do prefer Gabriel but if Olivia ends up with Ricky, I would be okay with that too. The thing with Kelley Armstrong’s books, especially her YA series, the romance is like a tertiary plot. Not even secondary. Romance is not her main conflict which I love! She concentrates on the story. And that goes for the Cainsville series too!

Ricky. Ricky is someone Olivia can go to and I love their relationship. She trusts him and he trusts her and that’s all you can ask for. You find out he’s entwined into her world more than we thought, which I was kinda, not really, sorta expecting. Also, Ricky and Olivia are like some horny teenagers. Love me some Ricky and Olivia scenes but one was like, really? You guys really gonna do it in an alleyway? Is that really necessary? On the other hand, it made for an entertaining (and scandalous) read! I really do like Ricky and Olivia’s relationship, so whoever she ends up with I’m good both ways!

Okay, let’s talk Olivia’s ex. He was creeepy in this novel. He went full stalker on Olivia, and I knew in the back of my mind, something was up. I was right. (Thumbs up to the plot twist, Kelley!)

In Deceptions, we really get some answers about everything! EVERYTHING. I’m so happy we got some answers! For me, with mystery novels I solve the case along with the characters but for Deceptions, I was a clueless bimbo. *cringe* Maybe it’s because I read this book late at night so I wasn’t comprehending to the best of my abilities, but it was bad. There were moments where I should’ve been like, I KNEW IT! It was more like, Wow, I feel stupid now. The previous novels hinted at some big reveals that would be epic and they lived up to the climatic turn of events.

I don’t know how accurate I can attest to the plot twists due to the lack of mental awareness while reading but they were pretty good and original.

I don’t really want to spoil anything else because this novel is very intricate and every detail matters. This book had me flipping pages non-stop, reeling me into Olivia’s world once more. It was like no time has passed and I had no problem going into the novel again.

The ending sucked. It left me wanting more, and ugh. I need the next book. Deceptions ended on a good note, but with more books coming, readers can expect more obstacles for a dear heroine, Olivia. Again, the ending sucked. YOU CAN’T JUST END IT LIKE THAT!!!! *in turmoil*

Deceptions is a nail-biting, page-turning, make-you-lose-sleep novel. With this latest addition to Kelley Armstrong’s finished works, it will suck you into this new world, and make you crave more once you finish.

Happy reading!

Michelle


If you’re wondering about the cover change, the one I introduced with Deceptions for the first time in My Most Anticipated August Releases post was actually the UK cover, The one displayed in this review in the Canadian cover.

I was too lazy to switch my edition on Goodreads from the UK to the Canadian one, which I don’t know why the UK one was the first choice…

Anyway, that’s why the covers are different and I’m sorry for any confusion. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: Deceptions by Kelley Armstrong

  1. Pingback: My Most Anticipated October 2015 Releases | meers2review

  2. Pingback: My Most Anticipated October 2015 Releases | one page at a time

Leave a Reply

