Review: Crystal Kingdom by Amanda Hocking

18132925Crystal Kingdom (The Kanin Chronicles #3)
By Amanda Hocking

Paperback, 432 pages
Published August 4th 2015 by St. Martin’s Press
Average Rating: 4.11

Cast out by her kingdom and far from home, she’s the Kanin people’s only hope.

Bryn Aven – unjustly charged with murder and treason – is on the run. The one person who can help is her greatest enemy, the enigmatic Konstantin Black. Konstantin is her only ally against those who have taken over her kingdom and threaten to destroy everything she holds dear. But can she trust him?

As Bryn fights to clear her name, the Kanin rulers’ darkest secrets are coming to light… and now the entire troll world is on the brink of war. Will it tear Bryn from Ridley Dresden, the only guy she’s ever loved? And can she join forces with Finn Holmes and the Trylle kingdom? One thing is certain: an epic battle is underway—and when it’s complete, nothing will ever be the same…


two starhalf star

Disclaimer: Review is full of spoilers. Read at your own discretion.

God, I’m so disappointment in this book. To put it simply, as the last book of the series, it was a complete flop. Crystal Kingdom was a choppy MESS.

This is going to be such a messy review because I have so many thoughts in my head!!

First, Bryn pissed me off for more than half of the book. Actually, a lot of characters pissed me off. More on that later, but back to Bryn. She was SO FREAKING STUPID. Then, she would redeemed herself by being kickass and killing people, but then she would do another stupid thing!!!! It was like the author was thinking she wanted this and this to happen, so how am I going to get from point A to point B??? OH I KNOW! LET’S MAKE THE CHARACTER DO SOMETHING STUPID!!! There were loads of decisions that were unreasonable and irrational even for Bryn to do!!! I mean first, she went back to get Ember because stupid Ember didn’t want to be saved because of Delilah, her girlfriend, which lead to Ridley getting captured. Then Bryn saw her ex-boyfriend dead on the ground, and decided to move him away from the war so he wouldn’t be trampled on. Dude, leave him alone. YOU ARE AT WAR. Do you want to die? There is no time to move a dead body! Yea, it shows that Bryn has honour but seriously. WHO MOVES A BODY IN THE MIDDLE OF A WAR, WHEN THERE ARE SWORDS CLASHING EVERYWHERE AND BLOOD BEING SHED BY THE SECOND?? *deep breath* This was supposed to be a brief explanation…

Another character that pissed me off was Ember. God that girl. She kept spouting stuff about love, and how much she loves Delilah, and whatnot. The whole time I was thinking, Girl, you are in the middle of a war. Get your head together. Stop with the LOVE NONSENSE. She kept caring about her girlfriend and told Bryn that she would give her life to save her and blah blah blah. I mean I’m all up for a sacrifice in the name of love, but this was ridiculous. I laughed when she died. It was just ridiculous and unrealistic.

I had very high expectations for this last book. I mean it’s the last book. It has to end well! I has to be good. The characters sucked, but I can say the ending was better than the rest of the book. There was obviously a happy ending. Everything was resolved, all loose ends were tied. That’s why this book is two stars and a half. The last two chapters redeemed all the stupidity of the characters. It was kinda epic. Loads of blood and death and Bryn killed Mina, so that was a plus. Bitch is dead!

But it was unnecessarily long. So many chapters were irrelevant and pointless. The book could’ve been cut in half, and it would have been more enjoyable that way. I found myself skimming and skipping pages because I just didn’t give a shit about the letters that Ember wrote to Bryn, and a whole shit ton of other things that I have blocked from my mind. This book makes me so freaking angry.

I wanted to stop reading, throw the book at the wall, rip its’ pages out, then burned them all to ashes. This is coming for a book lover guys. One who wouldn’t dare dog-ear a page or bring food near a book. I wanted to burn it.

Holy mackerol, I felt the frustration and angry reading this one. The series started so good with the first book, but as it progressed it got worse and worse. I don’t even know what to do with myself after reading this!!

I’m so disappointed. Absolutely disappointed.

Two great books started this trilogy, but with this depressing conclusion, I have to say it was a waste of my time.

Crystal Kingdom isn’t much. There is a happy ending, and if you want to know what happens, by all means, finish this. I just hope you enjoy it more than I did.

Michelle

Leave a Reply

