Review ~ Inescapable

The thing about books, is that sometimes they are better before you read them.

Yeah, I’m talking about that book that you waited months to get your hands on. The one that you read the summery over and over to try and satisfy your craving. The book that clouded your thoughts while you ate breakfast, and later during diner.

The problem with those books, is that they rarely live up to your expectations. Those books that you thought would be a fantastic five star, turn out to be a deppressing three star

Hate to burst your book bubble my fellow nerds, but Inescapable is one of those books.

Inescapable by Amy A. Bartol

InescapableMy Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ /5

Goodreads’ Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ /5

My name is Evie Claremont and this was to be the making of me–my freshman year of college. I’d been hoping that once I’d arrived on Crestwood’s campus, the nightmare that I’ve been having would go away. It hasn’t.
I may be an inexperienced seventeen-year-old, but I’m grounded…sane. I look for rational explanations to even the strangest circumstances. Since meeting sophomore Reed Wellington, however, nothing makes any sense. Whenever he’s near, I feel an attraction to him–a magnetic kind of force pulling me towards him. I know what you’re thinking…that sounds fairly awesome. Yeah, it would be…if he liked me, but Reed acts as if I’m the worst thing that has ever happened to Crestwood…or him. But get this, for some reason every time I turn around he’s there, barging into my life.
What is the secret that he’s keeping from me? I’m hoping that it’s anything but what I suspect: that he’s not exactly normal…and neither am I. So, maybe Crestwood won’t be the making of me, but it could be the breaking of me. I’ve been left to wonder if the dark future my dream is foretelling is…inescapable

Inescapable is a book about Evie’s first year in university, as she meets Russel, a boy she can’t help but love, Reed, a boy she can’t help but want, along with a whole crew of friends, like Freddie, Buns, and Brownie.

Yes, even I have to admit that the plot of Inescapable is great. From page one, each event fell seamlessly into place as Evie was introduced to a world different from the one she thought she knew. Each Character was introduced without flaw, and they all provide important pieces to the overall story. Even when a possible love triangle was introduced, Bartol efficiently assures the reader that Russel will cause no unneeded drama and will only help Evie develop as a character. If I were to approve of anything from this book, it would be the plot.

Now lets move on to the characters…

We’ll start with Evie, an innocent girl that anyone could relate to, probably because there is very little to her. My best definition of Evie is that she is: a stubborn girl that will do anything for the ones she loves. She has also recently started playing field hockey, and cares about her studies. That’s it, no quirky hobbies, no future dreams, nothing! It was that reason that I didn’t grow attached to, or even admire, Evie. And that alone, was a huge negative to the book.

Now Evie’s character was acceptable to say the least, Russel was not.

Russel was exactly what you’d picture when I say a ‘stereotypical farmer/jock’. Trust me, it was bad. Russel was one of the main secondary characters in the book, so I expected a lot from him, but in the end, he had absolutely no character development. Worse of all was his accent. Don’t get me wrong, the whole southern thing was hot, but writing his accent into the book was a horrible mistake, because the whole “Red and me will”, and then “talk ’bout it,” and later “I just worry about ya,” and even the  “Y’all could…” was not working for me.

Next up is Reed. Now Reed’s accent wasn’t so bad, but still, could we please turn that “You. are. freezing” crap to ‘you’re freezing’. I mean you’re an angel, not a rusty robot; loosen up. Also, I was not feeling any romantic chemistry from him. Thinking back, Reed kind of reminds me of a cold ice block, or a vampire.

In fact, the whole story reminded me of a messed angel version of twilight.

Another problem that drove me insane was how awful the gramar was. I mean it was always “Zee and me,” “Evie and me,” ect. IT’S ZEE AND I, EVIE AND I. I could barely take it. And then they just had to have it so that the one french sentence in the whole entire book completely ignored the feminine/masculine rule. It was a she!!! You cannot say “Mon cher!!!”

In the end, like I mean last two chapters end, the story actually became quite bearable. So bearable, that I’m now considering giving the second book a try. I know, I’m just way too painfully optimistic…

Moment of truth: Do I recommend this book!?

To put it simply, no.

Howeverbecause there is always a butI wouldn’t say it’s not worth giving a try, especially if the second book is good… Just do yourself a favor and find Inescapable at the library, this book is not worth adding to your collection.

See you at the bookstore (just not for this book 😉 ),

EmSignature

Leave a Reply

