Armentrout Month ~ Review: Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Pure (Covenant #2)
By Jennifer L. Armentrout

Paperback, 329 pages
Published April 3rd 2012 by Spencer Hill Press
Average Rating: 4.36

There is need. And then there is Fate. Being destined to become some kind of supernatural electrical outlet isn’t exactly awesome–especially when Alexandria’s other half is everywhere she goes. Seth’s in her training room, outside her classes, and keeps showing up in her bedroom–so not cool. Their connection does have some benefits, like staving off her nightmares of the tragic showdown with her mother, but it has no effect on what Alex feels for the forbidden, pure-blooded Aiden. Or what he will do–and sacrifice–for her. When daimons infiltrate the Covenants and attack students, the gods send furies–lesser gods determined to eradicate any threat to the Covenants and to the gods, and that includes the Apollyon–and Alex. And if that and hordes of aether-sucking monsters didn’t blow bad enough, a mysterious threat seems willing to do anything to neutralize Seth, even if that means forcing Alex into servitude–or killing her. When the gods are involved, some decisions can never, ever be undone.


five star

OH MY FREAKING GOD I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH! JLA put me through loads of emotions.

Alex now has to deal with the fact that she is the Second Apollyon. But there was always meant to be one. Because there are two, Seth, the First Apollyon has the ability to become a God Killer. And the gods above are not happy with that fact. She also struggles internally with her experience with the daimons and the killing of her mother. She must overcome the physical and mental scars the event left her with. Overtime, she grows confident with the scars the daimon left when they tagged her.

This book starts immediately after Half-Blood (HB) with the beginning of the school year. Alex trains with both Aiden and Seth, alternating between the two. You would think her life was starting to become normal until her life gets in danger. Someone is out to kill Alex and make sure Seth doesn’t become the God Killer.

This novel contained lots of action, romance, tension, and drama. The plot was fast-paced and captivated me more and more by each chapter. It was literally like riding a roller-coaster. There was never a break in the action and I loved that!  The book was even better because it was written so well and had a great protagonist. A nice amount of character and plot development was present too. JLA had my interest from the very first page ’till the very last sentence.

We got to see more of Seth in this novel. In my opinion, he is an unpredictable character. I don’t know what I think of Seth… In Pure and later in Deity, I never could tell if he was a bad guy or a good guy. From the very beginning, Seth never settled well in my stomach. I was very wary of him in Pure. He was sweet, funny and caring one moment, then shady and mysterious the next. I felt that Alex trusted him to quickly despite their many verbal disputes; this bothered me a lot. I hate it when main characters don’t see the truth when I do!! Frustrated the hell out of me!

Halfway through the novel, he became a potential love interest which pissed me off even more. There was one flaw in this book and that was the appearance of a minor love triangle. Damn love triangle. However, Seth made Aiden super jealous which made it all better because Aiden was being a numbskull and was ignoring his feelings for Alex.

On the other hand, I do get why Aiden did what he did. It would have been bad for Alex if anyone found out about their forbidden feelings for each other. It still breaks my damn heart though. The sexual tension between Aiden and Alex was amazing!! I loved reading about it and those little moments between the two. *heart eyes* ❤

There were many antagonists in Pure, but one of the main antagonists was Minister Telly, the Head Minister of the Council. God, I hate him. He was absolutely cruel to Alex and his opinions were unreasonable and I totally disagreed with all of them. Thank gods he was put to justice later in the series. Minister Telly plays a key part in the novel as he is associated with an important group. My lips are now sealed. 😉

There was so many heartbreaking, heartwarming, and heart-throbing moments. JLA included plenty plot twists and this is where I meant where she stepped up the originality of the series. JLA ripped my heart out, stomped all over it, patched it back up, tore it to shreds then stitched it back together again and promptly stuffed it back in my chest. I was an emotional wreck after reading this.

The ending was no better either. Freaking JLA ended the book in the middle of the freaking fighting and action. Not okay. Not okay. I picked up Deity right after. There was no way I was going to wait to see what would happen next.

I love all the books in the Covenant series, but Pure (and Deity) are by far, the highlight of the series.

Pure is a superb novel with loads of action and romance to keep readers on their toes!

I recommend buying the next books before reading Pure because once you start. you’ll be addicted and itching for the next book in seconds.

Happy reading!

Michelle

Review: Half-Blood (Book #1) here

2 thoughts on “Armentrout Month ~ Review: Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Armentrout Month ~ Review: Deity by Jennifer L. Armentrout | meers2review

  2. Pingback: Armentrout Month ~ Review: Deity by Jennifer L. Armentrout | one page at a time

Leave a Reply

