Chewy Caramel

imagesEver since I made caramel sauce a few weeks ago, I have been craving real caramel. The other day, I was bored and I had recently seen a recipe for caramel. Real, chewy caramel. So I did what any normal person would do, and checked to see if I had all the required ingredients. And I did! The only thing that was left before I started was to ask my mommy if I could make caramel, and if she would help me when I had to combine the two mixtures (I’m still not comfortable working with cooking sugar on a stovetop on my own, so yeah). My mommy gave me the okay, and I started making the caramel I’ve been craving for so long!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup corn syrup

Directions

  1. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. Combine cream, butter and salt in a small pot over medium-low heat. Once it reaches a simmer, remove from heat. Do not let it boil.
  3. In a deep saucepan, combine sugar, water and corn syrup over medium-high heat. Stir until the sugar has dissolved, then leave the sugar mixture alone until it becomes a warm golden brown colour. The easiest way to see its true colour is to use a wooden spoon to drip some caramel onto a while plate.
  4. Once the sugar mixture is ready, slowly add the cream mixture. Be careful when you do this because it will bubble a lot, and it is very easy to be burt.
  5. Stir in the vanilla, and return to heat until the caramel reaches 250° on a candy thermometer or it smells ready. I suggest that you stir for the entire time because mine started to burn before it reached 250°.
  6. After the caramel is cooked, carefully pour it onto the line baking sheet and refrigerate for a couple hours.

I think this recipe would make absolutely fabulous caramel! While making my caramel, I kinda messed up a few things causing the final product to taste a bit off. For example, I may have forgot about the vanilla. I panicked and then grabbed the closest bottle of vanilla extract, this wouldn’t have been an issue buuuuut the vanilla I used was horrible! I also took the caramel off of the heat before it reached 250° because it smelt like it was starting to burn. Do yourself a favour, and do not make the same mistakes that I made. In  the end the caramel was still really yummy, but the vanilla left a weird aftertaste and cause I didn’t cook it all the way it was a bit gooey. My advice is that you make sure you use good quality vanilla, and you make sure that you cook the caramel until it reaches 250°. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as more than I did, and good luck baking!

Emily sig

Leave a Reply

