Armentrout Month ~ Review: Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout

17455815

Stone Cold Touch (Dark Elements #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Kindle Edition, 464 pages
Published October 21st 2014 by Harlequin Teen
Average Rating: 4.48

Every touch has its price

Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task for a seventeen-year-old who’s pretty sure things can’t get worse. Her impossibly gorgeous best friend, Zayne, is forever off-limits thanks to the mysterious powers of her soul-stealing kiss. The Warden clan that has always protected her is suddenly keeping dangerous secrets. And she can barely think about Roth, the wickedly hot demon prince who understood her in ways no one else could.

But sometimes rock bottom is only the beginning. Because suddenly Layla’s powers begin to evolve, and she’s offered a tantalizing taste of what has always been forbidden. Then, when she least expects it, Roth returns, bringing news that could change her world forever. She’s finally getting what she always wanted, but with hell literally breaking loose and the body count adding up, the price may be higher than Layla is willing to pay…


five star

Five “Stony” Stars

When I got my hands on Book 2, I ate through this book in a school day. Literally. I read this at school instead of paying attention in class and doing work. >:D It was absolutely worth it.

You guys know the characters already but this book focused on Layla’s relationship with Zayne. Hence, Zayne is the one on the cover with Layla this time.

*Pause here, where I literally reread the book*

*Continues review*

Gosh, I hate love triangles. In Stone Cold Touch (SCT), we see a complete 360 to Layla’s character and feelings. When it comes to love triangles, authors make it pretty obvious which guy (or girl, depending on what YA novel you’re reading. But let’s all agree, it’s mostly two guys, one girl.) the main character will end up with. This book completely through me out of the loop. You seriously have no idea who Layla is going to choose by the end of SCT. All I knew after reading this book was that I wanted, no, I needed Layla to choose Roth. I’m on Team Roth 100%.

As a proud member of Team Roth, even though SCT’s main romantic focus was Zayne, I did get me some Roth moments too! *swoon* I loved the sexual tension between Roth and Layla. I’m a sucker for male characters who hide their feelings for their love interest when you know that is complete BS. This was Roth in SCT and he pulled at my little heartstrings. *sigh* After rereading the book, I was more emotionally unstable than I was before.

Not only that, I was addicted to Roth’s sassy comments. JLA is so creative when it comes to his comebacks. Every time Roth’s opens his mouth, you know it’s gonna be sarcastic. Once he spoke, I was already waiting for his next “Roth comment”.

Layla resumed her badassness in Stone Cold Touch. She’s not the best fighter but she’s hardly a damsel in distress. She can take care of herself and that is what makes her so badass. JLA stepped it up when it came to Layla’s attitude. White Hot Kiss had some great Layla humour, but SCT was like a level up from that. We got lots more of Layla’s quirky thoughts and comments.

You really got to explore the possibility of Zayne in SCT. He’s protective, caring and kind. You knew putting Layla into Zayne’s hands would be a good idea. You really couldn’t go wrong with either boys. Again being a Team Roth member, I was even swooning at some Layla and Zayne moments! He’s her best friend! That the best kind of relationship you can have! The tension between Zayne and Roth was also really funny to read. Boys fighting over the girl. *rolls eyes* JLA wrote enough of this tension that it wasn’t gag-worthy. It was just enough. She’s a clever author.

JLA continued her style of writing right into Book 2. As an author, she is extremely talented at sticking to her characters. She knows them so well that it makes her ability to tell the story phenomenal and accurate. I know the characters so well because JLA does. Does this make sense to you? I think I’m explaining this horribly…oh well! Moving on…

The plot progressed really well throughout the novel. Never-ending action and adventure. It was fabulous. There was never a dull moment! The filler chapters were amazing too! Layla is such a lovable and dorky character you can’t help but get sucked into her personality and voice. JLA created a great protagonist to tell her story.

The ending was jaw-dropping. The plot twist was extremely unexpected. I’m reading it and then it just ends. JUST LIKE THAT. That damn cliff-hanger was typical JLA fashion. Complete and absolute torture. Finishing SCT for the first time at school was embarrassing. I remember being in turmoil and having no outlet because, you know, I was in the middle of class. I couldn’t do anything about my emotions! The next best thing was me making this odd groaning/moaning/whining sound. Of course, I had to wait a year before Every Last Breath came out!! The frustration guys, the frustration.

Next to her writing, I also really, really, really loved the familiars. *heart eyes* You guys, know what I’m talking about. Familiars are creatures that are first tattooed to a demon’s body. These creatures later become real when danger is near to protect and fight for their owners. My precious Roth has 5 familiars and they are the highlight of the Dark Elements trilogy. We have Bambi, a humongous python, a dragon named Thumper and 3 adorable kittens that become large, ferocious enemy-eaters, Nitro, Fury and Thor. These familiars always steal the show and are a great addiction to the books! All of them are badass as hell, loyal and freaking hilarious. I love these familiars so freaking much. ❤ Maybe even more because they’re Roth’s. *heart eyes*

If you read White Hot Kiss, I advise you to continue the series with Book 2. You will not be disappointed. If any of you have read these books before, you’re amazing. These books are great rereads so if any of you wish to be a long-time fan, this is your fandom. Once you enter, you will never leave. 😈

Keep calm and read on!

Michelle

2 thoughts on “Armentrout Month ~ Review: Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Armentrout Month ~ Review: Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout | meers2review

  2. Pingback: Armentrout Month ~ Review: Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout | one page at a time

Leave a Reply

