Movie Review: Insurgent (2015)

MV5BMTgxOTYxMTg3OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDgyMzA2NDE@._V1_SX214_AL_ Insurgent (2015)

CAST:
Shailene Woodley – Tris Prior
Theo James – Four/Tobias Eaton
Ansel Elgort – Caleb Prior
Miles Teller – Peter
Kate Winslet – Jeanine

PG-13
119min
Genre: Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller
Release Date: March 20, 2015

four star

Four “Sim” Stars

When I finally got the chance to watch this movie, I was ecstatic! I loved the first movie, and the books are a definite favourite of mine. But I did have some doubts about Insurgent.

The trailers seem to hint at a whole new plot line than the books. By this I mean that damn box that suddenly appeared out of thin air. I was really taken aback when I saw this in the trailer. My first reaction was No! You can’t do that! That was NOT in the book!! Now, I understand why they put that in there as it is a key part of the whole movie. It brought a purpose and problem to the entire movie. I wholeheartedly agree with the producers’ and writers’ decision to stray from the book.

I love when books get turned into movies. To watch my favourite book come to life through real-life people is absolutely exciting for a fangirl. There are moments where I’m super picky with details included in book-based movies, but other times I get that you can’t always stick to the book page by page, detail by detail. It’s just not possible to do certain features, especially with fantasy, paranormal or supernatural-based books.

Whenever a certain scene in a book is not put onto the big screen, I do get angry but only because I’m disappointed. I loved Insurgent, and it stayed loyal to the books but the movie did disappoint me in some areas.

One area was extremely important for me. The romance. I know that the Divergent series is not solely based on romance but this movie practically had no kissing!!! I wanted some Tris and Tobias action people!! I think it’s an understatement to say that Tris and Tobias are one of my favourite ships. There was hugging and gentle, sweet touching but I mean come on! Give me a more than that!! I think there was one kiss. One not-so-steamy kiss. To a romance lover, that is pathetic.

The basic plot to the book, Insurgent was present in the movie, Insurgent. They didn’t stray too much off the book, which was good, and like I said before, the box addition was bearable. In my opinion, the movie started out slow but it quickly transitioned to action. The fighting scenes were pretty good and believable.

The acting was phenomenal. Especially when Tris and Tobias took the truth serum. Holy mackerel, that was an amazing scene! I’m going to praise these actors a bit more. Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Kate Winslet, and all the other actors/actresses couldn’t have been chosen more perfectly. They fit the vibe of their characters and portray the characters as I would have imagined while reading the books. When it comes to book-based movies, I think it’s the actors that are chosen to play the characters that really make or break the movie. In this case, it made the movie.

Unlike Percy Jackson, the Divergent movie series were lucky and got some amazing producers, writers and actors.

This might not be important but I really liked the music score of Insurgent. The music in general was great and was chosen well. The music suited each scene perfectly, whether it was intense, sweet, sad or painful. For me, the music brought out my emotions while watching this movie.

The effects were incredible in Insurgent. The CGI done for the Sims were so realistic and it just blew my mind watching this movie. The creators of this movie really took time with the visual effects and I’m really grateful for that. The Sims, the video projections, and everything dealing with the box played a very important part in the movie and if they hadn’t aced the effects like they did, the movie wouldn’t have been as good as it was.

The ending of the movie really confused me a bit. Not the end end scene but where the message got broadcasted and everyone from each faction made their way toward the wall. I don’t remember that part in the book but I haven’t read the book in so long that my memory might be hazy. Yea, it was just weird and it threw me off a little.

Now, the final, final end scene when a certain someone confronts a certain someone in a jail cell and then a gun is placed on the head of the certain someone and then there’s a loud bang and the credits start to roll? That was a brilliant, amazing and shocking ending. It was just a GREAT ending! The movie was so constant with the action and with my interest, ending the movie like that with a literal BANG! was awesome! This happened right after the citizens moving towards the wall scene. It was like, oh happy! Everyone’s being freed! oh wait. no nevermind. BANG. DEAD.

I’m looking forward to Allegiant to coming out March 2016. Ever since the Harry Potter series, every movie franchise is splitting the last movie into two movies so, there will be a Part 1 and Part 2 to Allegiant. It’s just a way to get more money. *face palm* I just think it’s torture because that means I have to wait another year to see the ending of the series. Why can’t they put everything in one movie??

But, I’m happy that this movie franchise is successful unlike some other book-turned-movie franchises that ceased to exist after Movie #1. 😦

I recommend watching this movie for fans of Hunger Games, City of Bones, and obviously to fans of Divergent.

As a fan of Divergent I wasn’t too disappointed with Insurgent (other than the romance part of course) so I think other fans will enjoy this movie as well!


That’s all for today! Hope you enjoyed this review! Let me know what you thought of this movie!

Keep calm and read on!

Michelle

Leave a Reply

