Anime Review: Ouran High School Host Club

OHSHCHaruhi Fujioka, a normal high school student, wins a scholarship to attend Ouran Academy, a school reserved only for the rich and prestigious. Despite this, Haruhi cares little for her appearance, or the fact that she is a “commoner” in this school. However, her expectations for a normal high school career are turned upside down when she stumbles upon the Host Club, an elite club filled with rich and attractive boys who entertain young ladies using their own individual charm. Worse, she breaks a 8-million yen vase and has to pay for it. Without the means to repay her debt, Haruhi has no choice but to work at the Host Club, becoming a male host herself.

Episodes: 26
Duration: 24 min. per episode
Genres: Comedy, Romance, School, Shoujo, Harem

four star

To most, this might sound extremely cliché. A young girl owes a debt to a club filled with handsome boys and has to work with them. Drama, romance, love triangles coming right up! That’s what I first thought when I thought about watching OHSHC and really, that type of anime is absolutely not my cup of tea. But I had heard that it was good so I watched it anyways. I’m glad I did.

The story was not what I expected. While yes there was the drama and occasional hinted romance, I found it was more funny than anything else! While there was Haruhi’s debt as the main starting point, each episode introduced a new story that often only lasted for those 24 minutes but that had me laughing or rolling my eyes at the characters’ silliness. The story was nice and simple, not really following a defined plot it seemed and while that might annoy me normally, I found it fitting for the series and it was pleasant to simply watch without having to think too much and just have a good laugh or a warm feeling in my belly. The ending did disappoint me a little bit for being slightly anti-climatic but it could have been a lot worse.

The characters in OHSHC were really intriguing and positively my favourite part of the series. While they originally seemed like cookie-cutter stereotypes, they all had more to them than what they came off to be at first. And the stereotypes (done on purpose), really made some moments quite funny. Haruhi was the only one who didn’t fit into a clear-cut stereotype, and she was also my favourite. Blunt, brutally honest (without meaning to be) and oblivious, she made me laugh and enjoy every episode of the anime. Every character was fun in their own way, and I loved every one of them.

The art fit the typical shoujo style, with very big eyes, roses and sparkles (again, for the comedy). The backgrounds were surprisingly detailed and the characters were really attractive. I really liked the art, it was cheerful and bright, with lots of vibrant colours all the time. It really fit the comedy/romance feeling of the anime.

The music was cherry and upbeat like the rest of the anime, with a really nice song and a cute opening theme. The ending theme was also nice, still fitting to the style but the song was not my favourite. I preferred the English opening and ending themes, though that may only be because I can understand them.

I watched OHSHC in English dubbed and it was amazing. Each voice actor fit the character’s personality nicely and the twins even sounded the same, but with a slight difference that had me hoping I could eventually differentiate them.  Unfortunately I can’t say anything about the subbed because I have never watched it in Japanese.

Overall, even if it is not the type of anime I usually watch, I found myself really enjoying OHSHC. It was very funny and cute, without too much drama and no love triangles or annoying romance problems. It was actually not focused on the romance that much, more on the comedy, which made it that much better. I recommend this to any shoujo fan, or anyone who wants to watch something cute and very funny.

Until next time, Otakus!

Signature

One thought on “Anime Review: Ouran High School Host Club

Leave a Reply

