Anime Review: Soul Eater

Soul EaterSet in the supernatural universe where some humans can transform into weapons, young meister Maka Albarn is set on making her weapon partner Soul Eater Evans a “Death Scythe”, a weapon powerful enough to be used by the Shinigami himself. To do so, she must collect 99 evil human souls and 1 witch soul, all while attending the DWMA, a school that trains meisters and weapons to become stronger. However, her quest is cut short when an evil power threatens Death City and it is up to her, along with the other pairs of meisters and weapons, to defeat it before it is too late.

Episodes: 51

Duration: 24 min. per episode

Genres: Action, Adventure, Comedy, Fantasy, Shounen, Supernatural

(Info supplied by Myanimelist.net)


“A sound soul dwells within a sound mind, & a sound body.”

That sentence, as well as the rest of the Soul Eater series, really stuck with me for a long time.

Soul Eater was one of the first anime I watched, and is still to this day one of my favourites. I was drawn in by the first episode and enjoyed it until the last. I have very few bad things to say about the show, (apart from the Excalibur episodes, but those would drive everyone nuts), and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good shounen anime with a nice mix of action and comedy.

Since this was one of my first anime, I never noticed how the plot really starts off as your typical shounen adventure story. However, when I look back at it, the story develops into something much more original and intriguing than just that. While Soul Eater’s plot is not overly complex, or unpredictable, it still kept me engaged until the end. The pacing wasn’t overwhelmingly fast or tediously slow, and it had enough twists to keep me guessing and rooting for the characters, even when I could predict some of the events before they happened. The only downside were the Excalibur episodes (they are fillers but still, it was dreadful to watch) and the slightly disappointing ending. (As I have never read the manga, I can’t tell if the story line was significantly altered, but it was good nonetheless)

The part that I loved most about Soul Eater was the characters. Every character had a distinct and interesting personality that strayed from the stereotypes found in the genre. I found myself liking nearly every character in the show (a rare feat for me) and rooted for them like there was no tomorrow. Each of them had a deeper personality than they may seem to have and they were a lot more “human” than a lot of other characters that I have seen in other similar shows. The characters were definitely my favourite part of Soul Eater.

Another interesting part of Soul Eater was the art. While it took somewhat of a Halloween theme, it wasn’t overly dark and gloomy. It had many bright colours (like Black*Star’s hair) and it had a simple, yet original art form. Each character was unique in the way they were drawn and the backgrounds were pleasing to the eye. The best part was that the action scenes were never reused (like in Bleach for example) and fights were always interesting, original and never got so long they were boring.

The opening and ending themes were also one of my favourite parts of Soul Eater. The songs were awesome, the drawings made me wonder what would happen in the episodes to come and I never got tired of them. Surprisingly (for me anyways), the openings of Soul Eater were one of the few that I never skipped over when I watched the anime.

 All in all I think Soul Eater was a great anime and really worth watching. Even though it is 51 episodes long, I wish it was longer. I will consider reading the manga later but for now, I’ll probably just re-watch the anime. It’s way too good!

 Till next time my Otaku friends!

Signature


Leave a Reply

