Homemade Granola Bars

r-GRANOLA-BARS-600x275.jpg (600×275)

This is a recipe I found in an effort to do some healthier baking with some still delicious results. I had already wondered in the past how much money we waste on granola bars at stores that are processed to death. Once I first made these, any granola bar from a store was beyond compare in every way. I couldn’t go back. And I also couldn’t stop eating them too. So here it is:


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup steel-cut oats
  • 1 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1 1/4 cup of peanut butter or Wowbutter (peanut-free version I use)
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup dried blueberries (or cranberries)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chip (I use mini ones)

Directions:

  • Put all the ingredients in a bowl.
  • Mix together by hand or with a spatula until well combined
  • Prepare a pan (of any size I don’t really use on that it all fits in) with parchment paper or tinfoil
  • Drop in granola mixture and flatten out, try to keep it in a square it will make cutting easier
  • Refrigerate for at least 1 hour
  • Cut into bars and wrap individually with plastic wrap.
  • Store in fridge.

Notes:

  • This recipe is fairly simple and quick, don’t worry too much when putting it in the pan, I just try and spread it as evenly as possible.
  • The amount of bars you end up with depends on how big you cut them
  • I get most of my ingredients from Bulk Barn.

So this recipe works well for allergies as well, I make it using wowbutter/soybutter which tastes just the same. Any of my friends who eat it can’t tell the difference. For those who like nuts, you could add in 1/2 cup of sliced almonds, that was on the original version of this recipe I found. I always love these since they’re no bake and really healthy.

Good luck and happy baking,

ShaylaSig

3 thoughts on “Homemade Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: Back To School – Recipes for Lunchtime | meers2review

  2. Pingback: Homemade Granola Bars Recipe – DisappearFromReality

Leave a Reply

