Anime Review: Death Note

deathnote_s1v1Yagami Light is a 17-year-old genius from Japan who is tired of his life, school, and the state of the world as he knows it. One day, on the way home from class, Light stumbles upon a dark notebook with “Death Note” written on the front. Intrigued by its appearance, Light reads the first few sentences, only to find out that it states that anyone whose name is written inside will die. Discarding it as a joke, Light continues his daily activities. Soon after though, his human curiosity takes the better of him and prompts Light to try the notebook, discovering the truth behind the first sentence. Now, with power in his hands, Yagami Light is on a quest to change the world and become God of the New World. His path to holy status won’t be easy however, as another genius, known as L, is working against Light’s beliefs and Light himself. Who will win this power of Gods between humans?

Extra Details {supplied by Myanimelist.net}:

  • Episodes: 37
  • Genre: Mystery, Shonen, Supernatural, Police, Psychological, Thriller
  • Duration: 23 minutes (per episode)
  • Rating: R 17+ (violence & profanity)

Death note was one of the first anime I had the joy of watching when I was at the beginning of becoming an Otaku. And what a way to kick it all off. My praise for this anime is endless. It’s everything you could want, with twist and turns that, with main characters like Light and L, leave you waiting for the next answer. Except there’s always one thing for certain as the two characters go up against each other; with every action, every answer attained, you are guaranteed to have more questions. “How did they?…” Was always one of my most common ones.

These two are geniuses beyond compare, neat characters and interesting personalities in their own way. The worst part (and best in all truthfulness) is I guarantee after watching this anime you won’t know who the protagonist and anti-villain were. There will be times when they both are and sometimes when I think back to this series, I find myself questioning my morals (not that I always have much to begin with ^_^). Not only that, but even with the complicated morals, I came to love both of these characters in their own ways. To this day (and it’s been awhile since I first watched it) their intellect leaves me wavering because this anime is in no way a physical battle, it’s all mental and planned out. Purely psychological that I loved trying to sort out by myself as it went on. There are still a few things that I’ll never quite understand or accept in this anime to boot.

Now, I’ll move away from plot, because I can’t find any big holes in it that anyone will probably care too much about with the overall. Instead I’ll talk about one of the major things for all Otaku, feels, because let’s face it they kill us inside, but they’re like a drug at the same time. Except a good one I suppose. Even though this is a crime-based serious anime, feels still happen as I related and fell in love with various characters (hated a few too, but that’s besides the point). Drama and deaths and actions that can never be erased. Feels galore. Enough said.

I’m going to take a small jump back here, into characters. All of them as I said before are enjoyable in their own way, there was a single character I hated in all honesty and I learned to deal with that eventually, anybody who has already watched will probably know who I’m talking about. But I believe in the watchers discovering characters on their own, so I’m going to leave you, my readers, with this pic: Ldemotivator

Yup that definitely sums it up. Anyways I think I’ve touched the most I can without giving too much away, because honest, this is an anime that needs to be watched (or read in manga) not told. Oh and yeah for those who prefer manga it’s available online here too. I’ll recommend this one in either subbed or dubbed, I’ve watched both and they were equally enjoyable so it’ll depend on your preference. Here are is a link for watching the anime: Death Note in dubbed and subbed. Hope you liked this review and if you’ve already watched/read this anime I’d love to share thoughts on it with you.

Until next time,

ShaylaSig

Leave a Reply

