Review: Jesse’s Girl by Miranda Kenneally

16045315

Jesse’s Girl by Miranda Kenneally (Hundred Oaks #6)

Kindle Edition, 304 pages
Published July 7th 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire
Average Rating: 3.99

Everyone at Hundred Oaks High knows that career mentoring day is a joke. So when Maya Henry said she wanted to be a rock star, she never imagined she’d get to shadow *the* Jesse Scott, Nashville’s teen idol.

But spending the day with Jesse is far from a dream come true. He’s as gorgeous as his music, but seeing all that he’s accomplished is just a reminder of everything Maya’s lost: her trust, her boyfriend, their band, and any chance to play the music she craves. Not to mention that Jesse’s pushy and opinionated. He made it on his own, and he thinks Maya’s playing back up to other people’s dreams. Does she have what it takes to follow her heart—and go solo?


four star

Four “Red Cowboy Boots” Stars

I’ve read multiple Miranda Kenneally books and this one is written in the same fashion as her others. It’s great when authors have their own signature style and this author does. This book has different characters and a different plot but coincides with the other books in the Hundred Oaks series.

Before I start my review I want to mention that the title is absolutely genius! The chapter titles are songs and the title happens to be a song as well and it works perfectly with the characters. I thought it was cool and fun. 🙂

Ok, for me, I’m not a huge fan of plots where a celebrity falls in love with a hometown girl or a fan. It just seems unrealistic, making it hard for me to really appreciate and believe in the story. When I read, I literally step inside the book and with Jesse’s Girl, I wanted to do that but I couldn’t because of the storyline.

have read books with this type of theme, so I guess I do tolerate it, giving that fact that I rated this novel 4 stars.

Adding to my opinions on plot, the main character, Maya struggles with the same typical nonsense every YA novel talks about: she’s betrayed by her boyfriend, she doesn’t trusts anyone, she has horrible relationships with her family. Nevertheless, the story was written very well, especially since it was in first person point of view (Maya’s).

What really made this book shine was the characters and the overall concept and feel of the book.

Maya Henry wants to be a rock star and due to the privileges she gets at her school, on Career Day, she gets the chance to shadow teen country star, Jesse Scott. Maya is a character that is very easily influenced. What I mean by that is when she has an opinion, she doesn’t want to share it and let’s other people control her. To me, this makes her extremely relatable despite my preferences for characters that take charge and kickass. (Maya does kickass and take charge later in the book, so I guess CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT! YAY!)

Jesse Scott became famous at a very young age by winning a music contest show thingy. (Kinda like The Voice, or The X-Factor) He is eighteen now and has announced that he will retire because he wants to maintain a relationship with his parents, who don’t support him or his career. He thinks the only way to make him parents talk to him and care about him, he needs to stop doing what he loves and that`s performing and writing. The parents don’t make an appearance in the novel but the mere mention of them made me so angry. I’m lucky that I do have parents who in the end, support me and love me.

My heart goes to those who don’t have parents who support them and I hope they have someone else who supports them instead.

But back to Jesse. He has trust issues and social issues as a result of this. Also, because he is a celebrity, he doesn’t have friends who like him for him, not because he’s a star. Guys, this guy has been backstabbed many times. Maya is the first person who genuinely likes him and sees him for who he is other than a celebrity.

And this transitions to my next topic, the romance. As you could probably tell, Maya and Jesse fall in love. I really love their relationship! From the beginning, Maya was very real with Jesse and vice versa. They traded insults and comebacks, they unwilling had things in common and they had chemistry! It was natural and they pushed each other to try new things, and forced each other to be vulnerable. Maya tells him multiple times my exact thoughts about Jesse’s parents and that he shouldn’t stop whatever he’s doing. That was the point you could tell that Maya cared about Jesse. The one thing that bothered me a teeny bit was how they fell in love with each other in practically one day, Maya’s Shadow Day. Again, in one day, you can discover the attraction and you can develop feelings for someone.

I guess the way Kenneally wrote their romance and really, this novel, made everything flow and progress very well. She made it, to some point, believable, which was a concern of mine in the beginning of this review.

Overall, I enjoyed Jesse’s Girl by Miranda Kenneally, I was entertained, and there wasn’t too much hate! I recommend this book to those who have read the Hundred Oaks series like I have or who want a nice, short, adorable YA Contemporary/Romance novel!


Will I hope that I’m going to fall in love with a damn celebrity?? HA. NO. Will I fantasize about it? Maybe. (I’m a fangirl after all and we’re capable of anything…)

Hope you like this review!

Keep calm and read on!

Michelle

Leave a Reply

