Black Ice Review

BlackIce

Title: Black Ice

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Series: Stand alone

Brit Pheiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants;but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage. Britt is forced to guide the men off the mountain, and knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target. But nothing is as it seems, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnapper. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

HHHHH

This wasn’t the first time I’ve read a book by Becca Fitzpatrick. Actually, she is probably one of my favorite authors because of her work Hush Hush. For that reason alone, I came into this book with extremely high expectations.

Today I finished it; that horribly twisted, painfully suspenseful, killer good book, and let me tell you It. Was. Perfect.

One of the many things that I loved about this book was that it was one big emotional roller coaster.

For about one-third of this book I literally just wanted to throw it at a wall. I was reading about Britt getting herself stuck into a situation with no escape, and a bunch of boys who were driving me mad!

The boys were are next to impossible to figure out. I mean is he a killer, a friend, a cop, a fugitive, a camel?
It feels like you will never know!

Admittedly I had Shaun figured out from the start. He was pretty open with his hatred and it was clear that he was capable of many, many things, but Mason? Oh, he was a problem. At first I was positive that he was the good guy, but after a certain turning point, I was sure that he was the antagonist. And then it switched again. It was only on page 270 (out of 392) that I was finally certain I knew which direction his character was heading. Trying so hard not to give away spoilers guys. Once that whole mess was over, I read the climax with a mixture of dread and painful hope. Finally came the conclusion. I am going to be totally honest when I say that I totally broke down during this! That was some intense stuff.

Even though this book totally deserves five stars, there was still had a lot of ups and downs about Black Ice.

First off, this wasn’t the first time I’ve read a book about kidnapped girls. Stolen was a book that I read last summer and it definitely influenced my outlook on this book. No matter how much I knew that Mason was the love interest, I couldn’t fall for him like I usually do. He kept me on my feet, and every time Britt fell farther for him all I could think was “Stockholm syndrome”. Because of this, I started to see Britt as an unreliable source and I hated that! Even after finishing the book I still can’t help but wonder to myself about how accurately I experienced the story.

An upside to this was that Britt was just as aware of Stockholm syndrome as I was. This was something that I loved about her. Britt is not your typical helpless girl. She is brave, strong, and as watchful as the reader is, something that can be impossible to find in a book.

Another upside to the whole story was that Britt showed traits that were I found to be extremely relatable. Britt knew how to survive in the woods, and her love for nature was something that I understood. If you have even the slightest passion for nature then this book is 100% for you!

Guys this is a book that will stay on your mind weeks after you finish it. Now get your butt to the nearest book store to read it!

Love ya lots,

EmSignature

Leave a Reply

