Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

22836575

99 Days
By Katie Cotugno

Hardcover, 384 pages
Published April 21st 2015 by Balzer + Bray
Average Rating: 3.55

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.


four star

I don’t know why I like this book so much. I have succumbed to the love triangle!!! The world is ending!!! o_O

I also didn’t know why I read this book in the first place, because there’s obviously a love triangle according to the blurb of the book… And I’m not a fan of love triangles.

SO why did I rate this FOUR stars??

Because this book is a riveting tale about betrayal, self-image, and the main thing, love.

I have read Cotugno’s other book “How to Love” and I adored it. It was a book about the effects of teen pregnancy after three years. Cotugno wrote an amazing tale about this taboo and the messages you got from this novel were eye-opening. With this being said, she did the same thing with “99 Days”.

She explored the subject of cheating, with a character that you couldn’t help but sympathize with but at the same time, be angry with, when she continued to make the same stupid mistakes.

This book deserves four stars because of Katie Cotugno’s writing and story-telling.

Molly Barlow did something unforgivable and for a whole year no one knew. Until she told her mom, who wrote a book about it. Her whole town shunned her, Patrick left her and Gabe left unscathed. She went to a boarding school to finish her last year and escape her mistakes. Now, it’s the summer and she’s back in her home town and she has to face the brothers.

Like I said above, you can’t help but sympathize with her but be angry with her too, because history is about to repeat herself but this time she’s with Gabe.

I think Gabe is perfect for her. When I was reading I saw how different and calm and content she was when she was Gabe. He took her out of her comfort zone. Gabe is a socialite and loves crowd whereas Patrick keeps more to himself. With flashbacks, Cotugno tells us what Molly was like when she was with Patrick. Patrick is her first love, but Gabe is her forever.

I hate to admit it but the love triangle was written well. It worked with the story line and I was at the edge of my seat because I had no idea who Molly was going to end up with… It was frustrating how into it I was… :/ The love triangle was solved rather cleverly at the end of the novel though… so I think it made the whole thing much better for me as a love-triangle hater…

BUT there was still some very very frustrating moments in this novel, where I wanted to yell at Molly for being so dang stupid. That’s all I’m saying or this review will turn into a rant..

The one that captivated me was the format of this novel. The title is called 99 Days and each chapter is one day, so in total there were 99 chapters. I thought it was so cool how Cotugno did this and it didn’t feel long. Creativity points goes to you Katie!

Would I recommend this book? Maybe. But to those who are open-minded about reading different books. This is different. As a love triangle hater, I can say that if you are also like me, you will enjoy this book. But everyone is different…

You will absolutely adore this novel if you read How To Love by Katie Cotugno.


Ok, I have no idea what happened as this review got published before it was even done…. Also, there was more and it all disappeared so it must not have saved properly, so I had to start over….

If you made it through this review and are reading this, thank you! ❤

Keep calm and read on!

Michelle

One thought on “Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

  1. Pingback: Review: How to Love by Katie Cotugno | meers2review |reviews on books, movies and more…

Leave a Reply

