Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

 A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s
Average Rating: 4.35

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.


five star

Five “Tamlin” Stars

Holy freaking crap, this is book is amazing. I finished this book in one day and every time I was forced to put the book, I went insane. I didn’t want to the story to end and when it did, I knew I had a book hangover. It was that good!

NOW I HAVE TO WAIT A WHOLE YEAR FOR THE NEXT BOOK!! *sob*

Since reading Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa, I haven’t found another faerie series that I really liked. THIS BOOK broke my faerie hiatus. Iron Fey is one of my favourite series and “A Court of Thorns and Roses” (ACOTAR) met up to that standard!!! I’m currently fangirling because– *ah* SUCH A GOOD BOOK.

Tamlin is a High Fae who, in the beginning, Rachelle was very hostile to as certain circumstances lead Rachelle to live in his home. Tamlin oozes power and beauty but is also cursed. (That’s all I’m saying ’cause this is a spoiler-free review) The book is from Rachelle’s first person POV and the way Maas wrote about Tamlin through Rachelle’s eyes is mesmerizing. I was mesmerized by Tamlin and everything in between, while reading ACOTAR.

Rachelle is a character I absolutely look up to. From a young age, she had to learn how to keep her family alive after her father lost all their money, putting them out in the streets. Her older sisters did nothing to help out with money, or food. They were spoiled brats. Being the youngest out of three, the responsibility she was burdened with made her trustworthy, likable and easy to sympathize with. By Chapter 5, I was protective of Rachelle and had a deep attachment to her. I wanted to punch her sisters in the face for the crap they gave her. Same with her no-good father who wallowed in his despair of being in poverty.

In the long run, I know the romance in a novel is not as important as the “big goal” or main conflict but I love the romance in this book!!!!!!!! Tamlin and Rachelle *heart eyes* The whole book was perfect for me but the romance just made it better! Tamlin is protective of Rachelle and not to mention that he is freaking badass and is immensely powerful. His feelings for her and her for him are passionate and red-hot.

The plot and the climax was exhilarating. There was non-stop action, non-stop adventure. Maas kept me interested until the very last page. She is brilliant with coming up with unique scenarios to keep the story moving along. It was also super entertaining to read new twists on the popular faerie world theme, with new rituals and holidays.

At times, the book seemed too long. I’m reading and I’m thinking Okay, it’s almost done. Everything is dying down, it’s time to prepare myself when I reach the last page. Then, I look at the page count and there is still 300 pages left and I’m now thinking What the heck is gonna happen in 300 pages that hasn’t already happened yet?!? Kinda like when you reach the top of a rollercoaster, then you dive down, and next thing you know it’s happening all over again! My emotions were all over the place with this book because I didn’t want it to end but was also curious on how it was going to end.

(The ending was not too torturous, and ended rather happy and well)

Sarah J. Maas is an absolutely brilliant writer and story-teller. I recommend this novel to fans of Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa and anyone who likes action/adventure with romance on the side. Also, if this book is amazing then her other books must be just as good maybe better, so fans of Maas should definitely pick this up for their next read!

YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.


I’m writing this review after reading all the books from Maas’s other series “Throne of Glass” and those books are freaking amazing. I’m in love with them. I’ve joined a new fandom. It’s brilliant. I love them so freaking much. Whether you’ve read ACOTAR first like I did or the Throne of Glass, all those books should be read by every person, bookworm, and book addict out there.

(Seriously, TOG and ACOTAR are my life now. I can’t get enough.)

Bye my fellow book nerds, I’m off to obsess!

Michelle

Leave a Reply

