Library Haul

After recently making a wonderful trip to the local library, I figured I would share with you the books I got.

Here’s a new series that I’d like to introduce to the blog: Library Hauls!

With each book that I introduce, there will be a picture of the book, a summary, and the reason I picked it out.

Let’s get started!


Black Ice

BlackIceBrit Pheiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants;but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

Britt is forced to guide the men off the mountain, and knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target.

But nothing is as it seems, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

I picked this book out because it’s written by one of my favorite authors Becca Fitzpatrick. I’ve already finished this one, and let me tell you, there will definitely be a review coming soon!


Undertow

UndertowSixteen-year-old Lyric Walker’s life is forever changed when she witnesses the arrival of 30,000 Alpha, a five-nation race of ocean-dwelling warriors, on her beach in Coney Island. The world’s initial wonder and awe over the Alpha quickly turns ugly and paranoid and violent, and Lyric’s small town transforms into a military zone with humans on one side and Alpha on the other. When Lyric is recruited to help the crown prince, a boy named Fathom, assimilate, she begins to fall for him. But their love is a dangerous one, and there are forces on both sides working to keep them apart. Only, what if the Alpha are not actually the enemy? What if they are in fact humanity’s only hope of survival? Because the real enemy is coming. And it’s more terrifying than anything the world has ever seen.

I picked this book up from the “new books” section of my library. I’ve never heard of this book before and honestly I think I picked it up because it reminded me of Obsidian, a favorite of mine. I’m really not sure if I’m going to like this book, so we’ll have to see if it calls for a review or not.


Fallen In Love

FallenUnexpected. Unrequited. Forbidden. Eternal. Everyone has their own love story.

And in a twist of fate, four extraordinary love stories combine over the course of a romantic Valentine’s Day in Medieval England. Miles and Shelby find love where they least expect it. Roland learns a painful lesson about finding and losing love. Arianne pays the price for a love so fierce it burns. And for the first and last time, Daniel and Luce will spend a night together like none other. Lauren Kate’s Fallen in Love is filled with love stories . . . the ones everyone has been waiting for.

True love never says goodbye . . .

I loved Fallen and I absolutely can’t wait for he movie! I was so excited when I saw this book at the library and I immediately added it to my pile! I’m seriously hoping that it quenches my Fallen thirst!


Viral

ViralTory Brennan, niece of acclaimed forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan (of the Bones novels and hit TV show), is the leader of a ragtag band of teenage “sci-philes” who live on a secluded island off the coast of South Carolina. When the group rescues a dog caged for medical testing on a nearby island, they are exposed to an experimental strain of canine parvovirus that changes their lives forever.

As the friends discover their heightened senses and animal-quick reflexes, they must combine their scientific curiosity with their new found physical gifts to solve a cold-case murder that has suddenly become very hot if they can stay alive long enough to catch the killer’s scent.

Fortunately, they are now more than friends. They’re a pack. They are Virals.

I grabbed this book mostly just because it was in french. My plan is to keep up with the language during the summer by doing some french reading, we’ll see how that goes.


Hope this post helps you with your own library visits,

Love ya lots,

EmSignature

Leave a Reply

