Top 10 First Kiss Scenes in Books

This is for the romance fans, who swoon over new characters falling in love, who cheer or squeal when your OTP kisses for the first time. This is for the ones who compare boys from real life to the boys they read about and to those who’d rather have fictional boyfriends than real boyfriends. This is for the ships and the fandoms. This is for the girls and boys who are in love with love.

*I updated this list with YA 2016 novels so go check those out here!!*

Disclaimer: All rights go to the authors mentioned and their releasing company. No copyright intended.


We all have our favourite kissing scenes from our favourite books. But first kiss scenes are momentum. They change the relationship of our characters, and they are built from tension, angst and ANTICIPATION. Here are some my top first kiss scenes, in no particular order.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead: Dimitri and Rose

When Rose and Dimitri finally kiss, they are under a spell. The after-kiss scenes though… Made me what to curl up into a ball. THE FEELS.

“Swallowing, I asked again, ‘Do you think I’m pretty?’ He regarded me with utter seriousness, like he always did. ‘I think you’re beautiful.’ ‘Beautiful?’ ‘You are so beautiful, it hurts me sometimes.’ His lips moved to mine, gentle at first, and then hard and hungry.”

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick: Patch and Nora 

6339664Sometimes, the lead up to the kiss is the best, and the almost kisses. I felt like this book’s angst was really good and Patch just exuded bad boy vibes that I absolutely fawned over!

“ ‘You should go,’ I breathed. ‘You should definitely go.’
‘Go here?’ His mouth was on my shoulder. ‘Or here?” It moved up my neck.’ “

But when they actually  kiss.

“I felt his lips come against mine so hard he stopped whatever name I’d been about to call him from coming out. His hands dropped to my shoulders, skimmed down my arms, and came to rest at the small of my back. Little shivers of panic and pleasure shot through me.”

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout: Daemon and Katy

Ah. The famous laptop scene. Daemon will always be bae.

“His hands slid around my head, pulling me back to his mouth. There was a cracking sound in the house. A fissure of electricity shot through the room. Something smoked. I didn’t care.”

NOTE: You guys can read this scene in both Daemon and Katy’s POV! Even better!!

Iron King by Julie Kagawa: Ash and Meghan

iron king

When reading this for the first time, I was WAITING FOR THIS TO HAPPEN!! The timing couldn’t have been any better since it reflects Ash’s guilt of his previous lover’s death and made him realize that he has feelings for Meghan. This pretty much sums up the time when the hero needs a little wake up call and what better wake up call when Meghan almost gets killed?

“I took his hand, tugging him off the post while glancing nervously at the frozen dragon. “Let’s get out of here. I think that thing just blinked at us.” His fingers tightened on mine and pulled me forward. Startled and overbalanced, I looked up at him, and then he was kissing me.” 

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins: Anna and Kaidan

This kiss was steamy and hot and A-MAZING. Anna and Kaidan’s relationship is one of the many things I love about this trilogy! Kaidan is all things yummy and you can practically feel the heat of this kiss!!

“Kaidan’s eyes were on fire, and his sweet, earthy scent slammed my senses. “Seriously,” I whispered, unable to look away. “You’re doing that bedroom-eyes thing again.” We met halfway. His lips were as hot as his eyes, sending a shock wave through me.”

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare: Jace and Clary

Best Birthday Kiss Ever. Jace and Clary will forever change the hearts of fangirls everywhere. It was a pleasure to see this scene come to life in the movie. ❤

“His lips softened. She could feel the rapid beat of his heart, taste the sweetness of the apples still on his mouth. She wound her hands into his hair, as she’d wanted to do since the first time she’d seen him.”

Endless Knight by Kresley Cole: Aric/Death and Evie

16175040

I personally ship Aric and Evie more than Jack and Evie. Aric is one hell of a fictional boyfriend, don’t cha think? Evie and Aric have more history than her and Jack. I think there is more passion between these two and the feels are stronger. I’M TEAM ARIC/DEATH ALL THE WAY. Why? Because of this:

“Then he was striding toward me. His mesmerizing gaze pinned me in place as he cupped my face. When his lips covered mine, I gasped. He took the opportunity to deepen the kiss, groaning into the contact.”

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer: Scarlet and Wolf (My favourite couple from the Lunar Chronicles)

What if Little Red Riding Hood and the Big Bad Wolf fell in love?

“She hesitated. When he still didn’t move, Scarlet leaned forward and kissed him. Softly. Just once. Barely able to breathe around her hammering heart, Scarlet drew back enough for warm air to slip between them, and Wolf dissolved before her, a resigned sigh brushing against her mouth.”

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo: Alina and the Darkling & Alina and Mal

10194157One of the reasons why I was so torn between these two boys for my Alina.

Darling and Alina

“And then he kissed me. It happened so suddenly that I barely had time to react. One moment, I was staring into his slate-colored eyes, and the next, his lips were pressed to mine.”

Mal and Alina

“So don’t tell me we don’t belong together,” he said fiercely. He was very close now, and my heart was suddently hammerig in my chest. “I’m sorry it took me so long to see you, Alina. But I see you now.” He lowered his head, and I felt his lips on mine.”

Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

9680718Ah. The forbidden kiss is the epitome of all first kisses. Because there’s tension, there’s angst and you fall in love with their relationship first before the physical part of it. Also, when it finally happens you just die and fangirl over the fact that this ship is sailing!!

“We shouldn’t be doing this. He was a pure-blood…Then he leaned forward and rested his cheek against mine. Hot tingles spread through me as his lips moved against my ear. “You should tell me to stop.” I didn’t say a word.”


If you made it through this post, comment other kissing scenes that should’ve made the list!

May the hearts of fangirls beat at the name of fictional men,

SmallerBlogSign2

Want more of these delicious swoony scenes? Part 2: here

***I have moved to a new blog. If you want more, please follow me at Addictively Turning Pages!! ❤

2 thoughts on “Top 10 First Kiss Scenes in Books

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Books I can’t wait to read | meers2review |reviews on books, movies and more…

  2. Pingback: Top 10 First Kiss Scenes in Books (Part 2) – Addictively Turning Pages

Leave a Reply

