Review: Aimee and the Heartthrob by Ophelia London

25206843

Aimee and the Heartthrob by Ophelia London (Backstage Pass #1)
Paperback, 223 pages
Published April 14th 2015 by Entangled: Crush
Average Rating: 3.71

He never noticed her before, but now she’s all he can see…

Miles Carlisle is every teen girl’s fantasy. His rugged good looks and exotic British accent have helped catapult his boy band, Seconds to Juliet, to super-stardom. But after two disastrous and very public breakups, Miles isn’t interested in dating just any girl; he wants The One. And the only girl he’s interested in is not only his best friend’s little sister – and off-limits – but won’t even give him the time of day…

As a kid, Aimee Bingham had a huge thing for Miles…until he made fun of her for always tagging along. Now that she’s outgrown both him and her pigtails, the prospect of spending two weeks on tour with the childhood crush who broke her heart isn’t exactly enticing. Except now Miles seems interested. Very interested. And no matter how hard Aimee tries to resist him, her crush is definitely making a comeback. But everyone knows that falling for a heartthrob is a backstage pass to heartbreak…


four star

Four “S2J” Stars

Sadly, this wasn’t those books that I saw immediately and thought, I need to get my hands on this! At first glance, this seemed too cliche. Member of a boy band meets girl, ordinary girl meet celebrity, they fall in love, happily ever after, the end. It just didn’t seem exciting.

BUT THIS BOOK SURPASSED MY EXPECTATIONS. I don’t know what made me read this but I’m glad I did!

Plot
Plot was slow and somewhat repetitive, always bringing the readers back to scenes on the stage (which I get, I mean the whole book is about a girl who goes on tour with a band). It shows how hectic a celebrity’s life can be, but that made it hard to relate. On the other hand, I have to give points to London for creating scenes that were enough to keep me going without falling asleep. The scenes between Aimee and Miles were filled with tension, angst and absolutely swoon-worthy! *Michelle approves* Even though I knew nothing about what it was like to be a celebrity or being around famous people, Aimee and the Heartthrob brought a surprising tone of practicality about relationships, like Honesty, Trust, and Image. The conclusion was satisfying and the epilogue was CUTE AS F*CK! All in all, despite the slow pace, it flowed very nicely from one scene to another, closing with a fulfilling ending.

Characters
Aimee’s summer is turned upside down when her plans to stay with her best friend for the summer changes. Her last resort is to join her brother on a concert tour for a boy band called Seconds to Juliet (S2J), Her brother happens to be best friends with one of the singers and that is where the adventure starts. The heroine wasn’t weak, she had a strong personality and could pick her own fight. I became fond of Aimee very quickly. NO HATE HERE.

Miles. *swoon* He is just a hottie!! His band persona is the heartthrobso yes, he’s your classic “bad boy”. (Sorry guys, I know it’s overused.) He’s attractive, funny, and romantic, His chemistry with Aimee is amazing, but the obstacles of their growing relationship are what really made me like this book. One is the evident “Best Friend’s Little Sister” take that London wrote. This wasn’t as cliche as I thought it would get. That was written well.

Last Words
The plot was slow, and for those who love action, this is not your book. Those who love romance and who are looking for a nice sweet read, this is your book.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you made it through this review, thank you so much! This review is a little disorganized but overtime I hope to get better at this, so bear with me! 🙂 It’s just so hard to put my thoughts into words!

I will be posting reviews up whenever. I’m a quick reader so I promise I’ll try to post as much as I can.

Keep calm and read on!

SmallerBlogSign2

P.S. Sorry for the swearing. Hope you are okay with that. I swear a lot, but I’ll try to refrain from unnecessary profanity in future reviews!!
Leave a Reply

