Movie Review: Grease (1978)

I’ve never really been someone who’s in on any kind of movie gossip. I mean I still haven’t seen half the Disney movies, and High School Musical? I saw the first one. Yep, that’s it. It’s not that I don’t like movies, it’s just that I’d rather do other things with my time. However, I was extremely happy that I finally decided give the 1978 movie Grease a try, because I have to say, I’m impressed.

Grease

Title: Grease

Director: Randal Kleiser

Main Cast: Danny ~ John Travolta

Sandy ~ Olivia Newton-John

HHHHheart-half-2-256

Grease is a movie that takes place in the 1950s. The movie follows Sandy and Danny, two lovers from two different parts of the world who got together over the summer. The movie begins with the couple breaking up because summer’s over and Sandy has to return back to her home in Australia. Things get complicated though when the two find out that they are actually going to the same school for senior year because Sandy’s family suddenly moves to the US (I’ll admit that part totally confused me…)

The movie is fun, edgy and oh, so 50s!

One of the many things I loved about Grease was the way they were able to incorporate random dance scenes flawlessly. For some reason, during this movie I didn’t once question how all the characters knew the dance moves or words to the songs, instead I just enjoyed it.

Grease is a movie that I would definitely recommend for any girls night!

My only complaint about this movie was the plot. The plot seemed scattered and it was a little anti-climatic. I mean really, the whole movie was leading up to a school dance that lasted like five minutes. Gosh. Oh, and also the supporting characters. I really didn’t understand them…

I guess I should probably also include a warning: The movie is definitely a little sexist, but I didn’t find a huge problem with that, since it was staying true to its time.

Even though this movie wasn’t perfect, it definitely wins four and a half hearts.

Enjoy the popcorn,

EmSignature

Leave a Reply

